Lavender Essential Oil And Its Uses.

IMG_1479

Lavender a common and useful essential oil. Going back to my earliest memories lavender has been in my home, and has always been a comforting essential oil for me.
I picked up some books flicked through the pages as I hoped to find out a little more information about my favourite go to essential oil lavender. I am a novice when it comes to essential oils, however I have come to enjoy using them and finding ways in which they improve my daily living.
Lavender has some useful properties which are as follows:
  • Antidepressant
  • Antiseptic
  • Balancing
  • Calming
  • Healing.
Lavender has been my go to essential oil in times of stress or difficulties sleeping. I love  lavender infusions drifting throughout the house, lavender baths and a few drops of lavender on my pillow which leave me feeling calm and relaxed. I have enjoyed lavender soaps, talcum powers, and body lotions over the years.Lavender pillows have filled  my drawers and been spread throughout the house, contributing to a calming relaxing atmosphere in my home. For years I have loved using lavender, and have found it an affordable essential oil to purchase.
Lavender is good for treating insomnia just put a few drops of lavender on some cotton wool and place it in your pillow slip, this works well.
Lavender also has a reputation for being useful for the  nervous system, as it helps to balance the  nervous system, relieves emotional stress and anxiety, and can assist with depression. This is because lavender has properties that balance emotions, as well as calming emotions.
Lavender is also very good for headaches especially if you use it when you feel a headache coming on, I usually dilute a drop of lavender oil into some carrier oil for example almond oil and rub it into my temples, this helps to relieve the headache.
Lavender is also good to have in the first aid kit, it has antiseptic and healing properties. So it can be used on scratches, cuts, bites and wounds. I didn’t realise this, so I have not used it for this purpose. 
IMG_1478
Lavender is wonderful for self-care you can put a few drops in your bath, or even use lavender based body products. Lavender is good for healing damage skin and inflammatory skin conditions, as well as give you a sense of calm and relaxation. I am always careful to put essential oils into a carrier oil such as almond oil, or mix a few drops in a natural base body lotion. Always test a small skin test patch for allergies, with the diluted essential oil in the carrier oil or lotion before using more liberally. 
Lavender can be use to bring about a calming and relaxing atmosphere to your home. This can be done through infusing it in an oil burner, lavender bags around the house, lavender growing under your windows, and also lavender candles.
IMG_1480
Lavender has many more uses. As I mention earlier on I am not an expert in the use of essential oils, just an interested novice who loves to use them.
Some useful books are  as follows:
  • Change your mood with aromatherapy by Denise Whichello Brown
  • Aromatherapy and your emotions- How to use essential oils to balance body and mind,  by Shirley Price
  • Aromatherapy- A complete guide to the healing art by Kathi Keville and Mindy Green
  • Aromatherapy by Chrissie Wildwood
  • Calm Kids a guide to natural therapies for children by Jennifer Jefferies.
Please share what your favourite essential oil is and why, and what circumstances you use it for?
Wishing you all a wonderful day!
FRAN DISHON
Disclaimer: I am only a novice in the use of essential oils, I have no expertise in this area and the informational is from my own personal experience and research from books. Always be cautious when using essential oils and beware of any side effects. 
 
Leave a Reply

