Why I Love Suburban Living (And You Should, Too!)

suburban serene
I grew up in the suburbs and loved all that space to play in my own backyard. I love the gardens, cubby house, backyard cricket, the backyard swimming pool were the neighbourhood kids gathered many days. The places to ride my bike, and the freedom to walk around to friends houses. My childhood days seemed full of adventures each day, there always seemed something to do, something to play and someone to play with.  To me my suburban upbringing seemed full of neighbours I knew, and children to play with, it seemed safe and supportive. Maybe that is what has drawn me to living the suburban life.
  • I love that the suburbs are buzzing with community and interests groups to join. I love my Toastmasters group and  I also belong to a ladies group which explores lots of places in the suburbs and some awesome places to eat.
  • I love my space, my big house and open space living, that my boys have a room of their own, that it is quiet and peaceful, and most of the time I don’t hear my neighbours or traffic.
  • I love that their is a smorgasbord of playgrounds and parks to explore, and the streets are full of front yards to admire, and enjoy.
  • I love that I am surrounded by lots of dogs, the suburbs are great for dogs, that get to enjoy the backyard and walks with their owners in the park. My suburban area is a real doggy spot, there are always people out walking their dogs. It can get really busy mornings and evenings with people walking, running and riding bikes.
  • I love that there are a great choice of good schools, libraries, swimming pools, bowling alleys, gyms, and picture theatre. Lots of things to choose from. Convent shopping centers, and lots of places to eat. Maybe I am just lucky but there is not shortage of restaurants and cafes to eat around here. I love the hidden away places like the sculpture gardens and gallery, the homestead cafe, and park with the lake.
  • I love how the shopping centre across the road put a playground and seating in, I am so jealous I wish it was there when my children were younger, and most times it is a buzzing place for parents and children. Not to mention a few cafes to choose from, and a place to sit. At least some effort has been made to make it a social place.
 It doesn’t have to be boring burbs it can be social suburbs. I  really love living in the suburbs, and I just wish suburbanites speak out on how good suburban living can be, and that we work together to make it better and better.
FRAN DISHON
Leave a Reply

