Book Musings~ Find Happiness Now.

This book came from my local library, I borrow so many books from the local library. It is great and saves me lots of money.

This book came from my local library, I borrow so many books from the local library. It is great and saves me lots of money.

Find Happiness Now written  by Jonathan Robinson. 
This book offers 50 ideas/strategies for bring more love, balance and joy into your life, so I was definitely curious about what gems it had in it. I am always looking for more ways to live life more beautifully. So here is the three that I decided to apply. 
1 The Three Good Things Exercise – according to the book this exercise can increase your happiness level by 25% in six months. This exercise was originally created by Positive Psychologist Dr. M. Seligman. It consists of three steps.  These are as follows:
  1. To identify something in your day that made you feel good or happy. 
  2. Then write down that thing that made you feel good or happy on a piece of paper or in a journal. (I like to write things down in my journal)
  3. Then reflect on your role in creating that moment of feeling good or happy. 
The next step is to repeat the above three steps another two times until you have three things that made you feel good or happy. 
(Robinson, J., 2014, p.17)
Of course the book explains this in much more depth, and gives details about why this exercise works. This exercise is perfect for me because I love my daily journaling practice, and are always looking for ways to make it more powerful.
 
How to encourage yourself. –  The art of rewards. This exercises on how to give yourself rewards appropriately in a way that is encouraging. Firstly the reader is encouraged to come up with a list of 12 rewards from small things like taking a bath to bigger rewards like going to your favourite restaurant, and the author recommends a variety of rewards. Then you ask yourself what behaviour you want to encourage. Then you can work out a reward system that encourages you to achieve that desired behaviour that you wish for. Once again the book explains it in much greater detail. (Robinson, J.  2014, p.37-39)
3.The Magical Playlist.
This one is easy and I have been creating my own play list, some of my music lists  are up beat and make me cheerful, and  some are relaxing and meditative, just slowing me down allowing me to feel in a relaxed mood. It is amazing how music can influence a persons mood, for me I like quietness most of the time, however I find certain songs can get me into a good mood quickly.
There are so many great ideas in this book, and there is sure to be a couple that will jump out at you. I chose these three because they jumped out at me, and they were three exercises that I can easily apply in my life, for example I already love journaling, so I am integrate the first excise into that. I am big into self-care, and the art of rewards fits well into that, and finally the magical playlist, well I now have four playlist and it is music that makes me feel good in some way.
Also excited about doing this :

 7 DAY MINDFULNESS CHALLENGE!

It is an online challenge were they send you out exercises to do for 7 days,  I found out about it in my Happiness & Its Causes newsletter that I receive, it says to share it so I am sharing the link to the challenge wiIt is an online challenge were they send you out exercises to do for 7 days,  I found out about it in my Happiness & Its Causes newsletter that I receive, it says to share it so I am sharing the link to the challenge, https://wired.ivvy.com/event/7DAYMC/ so click on the link to register for the challenge.

I am really looking forward to doing it.

 

Wishing you all a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

