These Cold Days We Need A Strong Excuse To Get Out And Play.

polar bear_0197

Saturday,
Wet, cold and all rugged up, off for a long drive to Montalto Vineyard & Olive Grove  for the Abundance olive festival. It was freezing cold, but at least the rain stayed away for a while. We went for a walk along the sculpture walk, sat out side alfresco to have pizza and wine, enjoyed the delicious tastes and some nice back ground music. The place was a live a buzzing with people, not what you expect on a cold winters day. I think these cold days we need a really strong excuse to get out and play.
Sculpture_0193
 
Sunday
It is one of those cold wintry days, when the only thing I want to do is stay under the doona cover and keep deliciously warm and comfortable. The rain is gently falling outside, and it’s sound is sort of comforting. I stay in bed way to long, using the time to listen to podcasts and keep warm. Eventually I get up and have breakfast for lunch. 
It is a dark cold winters day, and the rain has stopped. The sky remains blanketed in dark grey clouds. I venture out with Mr. Serious and go for a walk around the lake. With purple hat and scarf and a think black coat I feel rugged up and warm. The air is icy cold, and feels damp, the air smells damp and earthy. The foot path is still wet and damp.  The grass is wet and squishy, with drops of water settled on the blades of grass, shimmering in the light. The houses look deserted, and quiet, the footpath deserted and quiet. Occasionally we come across someone going for a walk or run. Th There are more ducks out of the water, than in the water. It is so quiet you can hear the birds tweeting away. In the distance the clouds look are blue black, and the day seems darker than it should be. As I walk I notice the stillness and quietness. I wonder where everyone is, then I think they must be hibernating inside. I return home feeling more energised, warmer and feeling good for having moved my body. However now it is late afternoon, the days has mostly gone and I have not done anything constructive.  Well I will post this blog post, and read blog posts on things to do on weekends. Then watch some television. I watch way to much television during winter. 
Wishing you a wonderful day!
 
Leave a Reply

