Artist’s Date to Old Treasury Building

Old Treasury Building Museum.

Old Treasury Building Museum.

I love exploring, and it occurred to me I do not think I have ever been to the Old Treasury Building Museum. Exploring old buildings and history sounded like a good idea for an Artist’s Date.

It was free entry into the Old Treasury Building Displays.

It was free entry into the Old Treasury Building Displays.

It was a lovely building and had some special rooms inside. I spent most of my time exploring the Trams: Moving Pictures display. I love Melbourne Trams, the exhibition displayed some pictures of Trams from the ‘Transporting Art Program’, which apparently ran from the 1970’s to the 1990’s which saw selected artist’s turn Trams into public art works. They created some groovy looking Trams.

IMG_0513

Then I had a look around found a little bit about the history of Melbourne and Gold. There was so much to see that I ran out of time.

It was also free entry into the Old Treasury Building Museum and I just did the self guided tour.

I so felt like a tourist. It was me, the tourists and all the school children. I love the idea of being a tourist in my own town. It then creates opportunities to see and explore so many more places of interest and buildings. It is also so informative and interesting. I loved the tram display it had a little bit about Trams and history, and the Trams and art was just great.    As part of learning when I was in school we went on excursions,  it reminded me I can still do that, I just have to make it happen.

 

One of Melbourne's Modern Trams

One of Melbourne’s Modern Trams

Have you been on an Artist’s Date recently? What did you do? Please leave a comment.

 

Links:

Old treasury Building : http://www.oldtreasurybuilding.org.au

http://melbournecurious.blogspot.com.au/2010/07/moh-old-treasury-building.html

http://melbournedaily.blogspot.com.au/2012/03/old-treasury-building-melbourne.html

http://richmondrambles.blogspot.com.au/2012/07/old-treasury-building.html

Leave a Reply

