Devils!

Save the Devils

Save the Devils

Whoops I missed Wednesday, I really just don’t know where all my time has gone, and it feels unreal that it is already Thursday.  So tonight I am off to Toastmasters and I will be doing an informative speech, which will be all about the Tasmanian Devil. I love Tasmanian devils and have to agree with my son, they are so cute. It is sad that they are on the endangered list. You see Devil Facial Tumour Disease has drastically decreased their numbers. It is a contagious cancer which is spread from devil to devil from biting. Devil’s often bite each other when mating and group feeding. Despite the fact that they sound aggressive and have a huge strong jaw full of very sharp teeth, they are not really that aggressive. Most of it is to avoid a fight especially when feeding plus they solitude and shy animals. Unfortunately this disease causes growths on the mouth and face and results in Tasmanian Devils experiencing a horrible death of starvation or organ break down.  Sightings of Tasmanian Devils have decreased by 85% and it is estimated that they could be extinct from the wild by 2050. I have been to Tasmania to see the devils, I have also seen them in several of the zoo’s in Victoria. This year our family adopted a Devil as part of the Victorian Zoo endangered animals programme.

I am so cute!

I am so cute!

 

Even though it is Thursday I thought I can still do Jamie Ridler’s Wishcasting Wednesday at http://jamieridlerstudios.ca, this weeks question is: The sky is wide open what do you wish for? 

My big wish is for a vaccine to prevent Devil Facial Tumour Disease and save the endangered Tasmanian Devils from extinction. I just love Tasmanian Devils, they are my favourite Australian Native Animal.  They really are so cute!

 

 

IMG_0238

3 thoughts on “Devils!

Leave a Reply

