Risk, Autumn the Shedding of the Old.

Autumn is here, the leaves are changing colour and soon they will fall.

Autumn is here, the leaves are changing colour and soon they will fall.

Todays NaBloPoMo challenge question is: Are you more likely to take a risk or avoid a risk?

That is a wonderful question. At this stage of the challenge, I have come to realise that it is better to take a risk. That growth and expansion comes from taking risks. How that looks for me I am not sure.

Today after going to the gym only to realise I left my membership card at home, I wondered if it was going to be a good day. So I sat down and did some work which had been avoiding for a whole month. In a matter of hours it was all done, I felt so relieved and it was easier than I had imagined. I then took my dog Little Miss Popularity for a walk. I noticed that the leaves are changing colours, and  some of the trees are loosing their leaves. It is Autumn and it was a beautiful sunny day followed by a cool night. Some days Autumn is hot, some it is cold, other days it is just perfect. I love that thought of shedding the old, taking time during the hibernation to rest and relax, then break into an energetic full flourish of new growth. It makes me wonder what I need to shed this Autumn, I have been drawn to a lot of simplicity and minimalism books lately. So I think it is time to start de -cluttering. So I think I will take a risk start shedding some of my stuff. My biggest fear is what other people think, will they think I am wasteful and ungrateful. Or worse self-criticism about all the money I have wasted on stuff,  and about  my own foolishness of getting caught up in all this consumerism. It is not just about the clutter in my stuff, but the clutter in my life.

So off I go to contemplate and create a plan to de-clutter my life. I will also contemplate what risks I can take.

 

A great place to contemplate  good questions.

A great place to contemplate good questions.

2 thoughts on “Risk, Autumn the Shedding of the Old.

Leave a Reply

