To Risk Or Not To Risk?

“There is no discovery without risk and what you risk reveals what you value.”
― Jeanette Winterson

NaBloPoMo__RISKThis is Month at the NaBloPoMo challenge the theme is “RISK“. I wonder if exploring this word for a month will make a difference in my life. It is such a powerful word and for me a somewhat scary word. There will be many other individuals doing the challenge so it will be interesting to read their views on the subject are.

 Todays question is: Do you think it is better to play it safe or to take risks? Firstly I need to address who I perceive myself to be. I am a quiet introverted individual who likes to play things safe and is very conservative. So I would tend to play it safe. I like to take well researched risks, and I don’t like to risk things that are really important to me like my health, or children’s safety, or our money and house. I really value security. However sometimes you have to take a risk, I was supportive when my husband left his job, to find another job that he would enjoy doing more. Working in a job he no longer enjoyed was affecting his health and wellbeing in a negative way. Health is therefore worth more than money and security to me. I am happy to risk feeling embarrassment in front of people, public speaking scared me, and I remember feeling so nervous that I shook so much I almost fell apart. I joined Cranbourne Toastmasters, and started doing public speaking. I risked feeling embarrassed however I learnt that everyone was really supportive, and I learnt new skills and developed the confidence to take on the challenge. I find being in a Toastmasters club encourages me to take risks( or more appropriately put, get out of my comfort zone in order to grow and learn more things). In retrospect the idea of public speaking was so scary and felt like I was going to die, however in reality nothing bad happened. In-fact only good things have happened like a massive boost in self- confidence and self’-esteem. That is the sort of risk taking I prefer to take. Also for me writing blog posts was considered a risk to me, what if people don’t like what I have to say. What if I look stupid. However writing blog posts, doing this challenge gets me out of my comfort zone, and I am prepared to risk looking stupid, and making mistakes, and people not liking me, because it is helping to grow as a person. I feel comfortable playing safe, and sometimes I push myself to feel uncomfortable and take a sensible risk.  I think taking some risks can boost personal growth, and I don’t think you can live life just playing it safe. A certain amount of risk makes life interesting, I know that, yet I still need to push myself to take a risk. So this month I will be pushing myself even harder to take more risks, and make new discoveries and grow in knowledge, skills and as a person.

Wishing you all a wonderful day!


Leave a Reply

