Journal Writing

journal writing

 

Today is Yoga Tuesday so I thought I would write about an act of self-care. As part of my self-care ritual I like to Journal, it is my daily dose of me time.

 

First thing in the morning before rushing around getting the children ready for school, I like to start the day by taking some time out for me.  Life can be so busy, busy, and so fast paced. I like to start my day slowly and calmly. In the morning I like to sit down and do some journaling. It helps to clear my mind, explore questions, dream, and some times just think. It always helps me start my day off right and with some sort of plan about what I intend to do. The method I use is Morning Pages, a journaling tool created by Julia Cameron in her book the Artist’s Way. I mostly do journaling in the morning, however if for some reason if I miss a morning, I simply do it in the afternoon or evening. It has become a daily ritual for me.

Artists Way

“Show up at the page. Use the page to rest, to dream, to try.” ( Julia Cameron)

The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron has a great tool in it called Morning Pages. This tool is aimed at helping the individual to find their creativity, and finding your own inspiration.   This tool requires the individual to get up each morning and do three pages of free flow writing, or stream of consciousness writing. It other words you just write down what ever is in your head for three pages. A mind dump. It is like a writing meditation. It does not need to make sense, and it not intended to be read. It is basically just turning up to the page and putting something on it. It is a great tool for clearing the head and starting the day with focus. She also talks about recognizing when your inner Censor, the inner Censor is the one that says negative and critical things about you, the one that says ” that work is not good enough” or ” who would want to read what you have to write.” As Julia says it is important to remember that the inner Censor’s negative opinions are not true, they are just an opinion. It also helps to picture your Censor, the below image is what mine looks like, when I think about that image it is hard to take her serious.  When the negative opinions come up, just think of your inner sensor, now it is just an opinion and move on. This assist to quieten the voice of the Censor. I think this actually works. I am now more aware when my inner Censor is talking and can be kinder to myself.

censor

 

Sometimes I will use my Morning Pages to explore different issues, in other words I journal my way to solutions. Journaling is also a great way to do reflective learning. It has often allowed me to learn from life events, learn about my strengths and weakness and identify skills and knowledge I  have or need to learn. It is not all serious, a lot of time I have a lot of fun with my Morning Pages, and write very silly things, write about what I love about life, or simply just let my imagination go off on its own little trip. That is the beautiful thing about Morning Pages, there are no rules you just write. So each day that is what I do, I just write.

Do you journal? What style of journaling do you do? If you have any comments about journaling. I would love to read about them. There are so many ways to do journaling.

One thought on “Journal Writing

  1. Pingback: J is for Journal | Theresa's Blog

Leave a Reply

