Following Instructions

It has been a busy weekend with family celebrations and out to the movies to see Frankenweenie, so have been struggling to keep up with this blogging everyday. I still have a lot of post to catch up and hope to do this in the next couple of day.

 

The Holy Communion stained glass window at St....

The Holy Communion stained glass window at St. Matthew’s Lutheran Church in Charleston, SC. Franz Mayer & Co. of Munich, Germany represented by the studios of George L. Payne of Patterson, New Jersey 1966. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have never been good at following instruction sheets or reading operational manuals for that matter. However part of Happier Home book is to read the manual or instructions. On the weekend my son made is First Holy Communion, in preparation for this I was Ironing a material picture onto is stole. I thought I read the instructions heat for two – three minutes. So I did, however I started to smell this burning smell, the material was burning and went from white to brown. The instructions said heat the iron 2-3 minutes then iron the item for 30 seconds. So I cut out the picture cut the burnt material off and stuck the picture on with double sided tape. Thank goodness for double sided tape, and scissors. A disastrous moment was saved and everything turned out for the best. My son’s stole looked lovely and we had a family celebration after his event at church. Sometimes disasters are not really disasters. I was so proud of myself that I just laughed and dealt with it rather than getting all stressed and upset. After all nobody else would have noticed, and I don’t think anyone else was really looking they are all two consumed in their own children to care what my child looks like. Although I would have to agree if I read the instructions and didn’t burn the material I would have been a lot happier. Silly me!

5 thoughts on “Following Instructions

  1. Your post made me chuckle. Is your book going to be all about your disasters? If so I think it will make a great gift for someone who needs cheering up and connects with your mishaps. I also don’t read instructions, and spend time figuring things out for myself. A lot of learning takes place during that time! 🙂

    • Thanks Maeve,
      Maybe I should write a book about all my disasters, what a wonderful idea. The Happier at Home book is by Gretchen Rubin, and I am working through it chapter by chapter. I am only on the first chapter, I am doing a chapter a month. Whilst hands on learning is a very valuable experience.

  2. I needed to read this today, Maeve. I’m having my sister over for lunch today and have already burned the stew! Just about to go to Plan B! I read Gretchen Rubin’s predecessor book, ‘The Happiness Project’, and love the way she puts over her information. Still haven’t implemented all the good advice yet, though.

    • Thanks Susan, Sorry to hear about your stew,I am sure plan B will taste delicious. I also read The Happiness Project, she dose write great books, with lots of great advise.

Leave a Reply

