Frugal Artist’s Date ideas

Wow I have been busy with work and have missed a couple of post, so lots of catching up to do. I really enjoy reading the Artist’s  Way  and working through the book. So I thought I would just focus on one of her tools the Artist’s Date.
I enjoy going for my Artist Dates, this is one of the tools Julia Cameron encourages people to use, as a way of rediscovering ones own creativity.
An Artist Date is a date with your inner-artist, or your inner-child where you solely spend time with yourself. It is meant to be fun or simply something you enjoy doing. It is a bit like a play date with yourself. Then just take the time to listen to your inner voice, play  and  enjoy! Julia also talks about how we need to re-fill our wells. Sometimes I am so busy attending to others I forget to attend to me. Going on an Artist’s Date ensures I look after me and refill my well so I can continue to create a wonderful life.

Here are 10 frugal Artist’s Dates:

  1. Find a new park, walk around or through it and take photo’s, sit and read, have lunch, or even sit and write.
  2. Be a tourist in your local area, go see local sites look at them as you are seeing them for the first time, find out about the history of your local area.
  3. Op shops lots of fun looking for treasures
  4. Take yourself out to a nice cafe for a coffee/tea/drink and enjoy reading a book.
  5. Do art journalling, its lots of fun and you get to be creative
  6. Support the local art scene. Go to local festivals and events which are often free or very cheap.
  7. Take your self for a picnic
  8. Relax and take a long soaking bath, with candles and music (This is one I need to do.)
  9. Go visit a pet store and enjoy looking at the animals
  10. Browse craft shops, nurseries, and potteries and admire the creativity of others.(I think I would like to visit a nice garden nursery too>)

These are some of the frugal ideas I can think of for an artist’s date, I am sure there are plenty of more like just spend time on doing your favourite craft or getting messy with hand paints.  Please share your ideas I am always looking for new places to explore or activities to dive into.

Leave a Reply

