Five Ways to Discover What Activity and Events are Happening in Your Suburb.

Monument commemorating Edwin Flack at Berwick,...

Monument commemorating Edwin Flack at Berwick, Victoria (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Part of my journey to cultivate more happiness and live blissfully in my suburban area is getting out into my community and finding out what it has to offer. I first thought I could look up events to see if I could add more art, music and culture into my life without having to stray to far from home. After a little investigating I have found there is a lot happening in my area. There are art exhibitions and even galleries. Music in the library last Sunday of the month and monthly book cafe’s. Markets, from farmers market to clothing markets. Plenty of cafes and parks to visit. There is actually lots to do all of the time I just had to do a little searching. So the five ways to find out what’s on in your suburb that I found most useful are as follows:

  1. Local Newspapers: I have found sections like What’s On and Community Calendar to be great places to find out local events, markets, community group events, courses, and hobbies. This is one I like to check once a week. Also local papers are always advertising local events and festivals.
  2. Council: My local council is  a wonderful place to find out what is happening in my community. It provides information on local events and tourism as well as community groups and community calendar. The community calendar covers happenings such as markets, fetes, events, talks, local festivals , information sessions, local performing arts groups concerts and local expo events. Many of these events are free or at a very reasonable price.
  3. Tourism Websites such as Travel Victoria: This often provides basic information about parks, markets, festivals and food in a particular local area.
  4. Local Libraries:  These a community treasure boxes as they offer so much more than books these days. Libraries often have events on and often these events are free or very inexpensive. They often have nights with authors of books, workshops, book cafe’s and music plus so much more. It is really worth checking out what your local library has to offer. I once did a workshop about Facebook at the library and I love it when they have an exhibition of local art which visitors are encouraged to vote on.
  5. Ask other locals : This one I need to do a little more of , because  often other people do and know of interesting events and activities in the local area that are not advertised. I also think sharing what treasures I find in my own local area with others will cultivate more happiness and blissful joy in my own suburb.

So I encourage you to do a little investigating of your own and find out what events and activities are happening in your own suburb and surrounding areas. Would love to hear how you go.

Berwick Inn

Berwick Inn (Photo credit: Mattinbgn)

One thought on “Five Ways to Discover What Activity and Events are Happening in Your Suburb.

  1. Reblogged this on Happy Suburban Chick and commented:
    This weekend I have been stuck at home inside with a head cold. My nose keeps running, I have a rotten headache, and I am dreaming about all the things I could be doing. However I am just too tired and miserable to do much at all. So today I have chose to reblog an old post. I have found this post very useful in cultivating a more interesting and joyful life.

Leave a Reply

